# MINUTES IACR BOARD MEETING VIRTUAL-10 '22

19 OCTOBER 2022

#### 1. OPENING MATTERS

1.1. **Welcome, roll of attendees, identification of proxies.** At 16h00 CEST Abdalla opens the meeting and briefly goes around for an introductory round, confirming attendees and establishing who is holding proxies. There are 21 full time attendees with the following proxies: Stebila holds Bos's proxy; Standaert holds Yung's proxy when he is absent; Hale holds Boyd's proxy; Bishop holds LaMacchia's proxy.

### 1.1.1. Roll of Attendees.

*Attendees* (Elected). Michel Abdalla (President 2020-2022); Shai Halevi (Vice President 2020-2022); Masayuki Abe (Director 2021-2023); Jian Guo (Director 2022-2024); Anna Lysyanskaya (Director 2022-2024); Bart Preneel (Director 2020-2022, *FSE* Steering Committee); Peter Schwabe (Director 2020-2022); Francois-Xavier Standaert (Director 2020-2022, *CHES* Steering Committee); Bo-Yin Yang (Director 2022-2024, *Asiacrypt'22* General Chair); Moti Yung (Director 2021-2023, *PKC* Steering Committee);

*Attendees* (Appointed). Allison Bishop (*Crypto'22* General Chair (2021-2022)); Britta Hale (*Crypto'23* General Chair (2022-2023)); Vincent Rijmen (Journal of Cryptology Editor-in-Chief 2021–2023); Douglas Stebila (Membership Secretary (2017-2022)); Damien Stehlé (*Eurocrypt'23* General Chair (2022-2023)); Fangguo Zhang (*Asiacrypt'23* General Chair);

Attendees (Representatives and Others). Kevin S. McCurley (Database Administrator);

Absentees (Elected). Joppe Bos (Secretary 2020-2022); Brian LaMacchia (Treasurer 2020-2022); Tancrède Lepoint (Director 2021-2023);

Absentees (Appointed). Foteini Baldimtsi (Communications Secretary (2019-2022)); Colin Boyd (Eurocrypt'22 General Chair;

*Absentees* (Representatives and Others). Tal Malkin (*TCC* Steering Committee); Mitsuru Matsui (*Asiacrypt* Steering Committee); Hilarie Orman (Archivist); Kenny Paterson (*RWC* Steering Committee); Tal Rabin (Code-of-conduct Liaison); Yu Yu (Webmaster).

1.2. **Approve minutes from last BoD virtual meeting.** The President thanks the Secretary for the completion of the minutes which have been shared before the current Board Meeting. Minor revisions were noted by Hale, Lysyanskaha, and Preneel which will be incorporated. Abdalla calls for a vote to approve the minutes.

**Decision 1.** The Board approves the Minutes of the IACR Board Meeting Virtual-9 '22 subject to the revisions noted above.

## 2. Conferences

2.1. Update on 2022 conferences. Halevi reports that registration is open for *TCC 2022*. Yang reports that registration just opened for *Asiacrypt 2022*. Distribution of stipends is underway.

2.2. Update on 2023 conferences. Preneel mentions that it is still the intention to have two parallel hostings of *FSE 2023* in China and probably Japan, but this is not yet finalized.

#### 3. TOPICS

3.1. **2022 IACR Election update.** Abe reports that the election is underway. We have 6 candidates for the 3 elected director positions; for each of the officer positions there is 1 candidate. Abdalla suggests that the voting period is perhaps longer than necessary and we may wish to revisit this.

3.2. GC guidelines revisions for making cryptography conferences more LGBTQ+-friendly. Hale suggests that on page 18 the text be amended so that the volunteer be trained to offer to relocate the affected individual to a safe space or bring the General Chair to them. Stebila will revise the text and then a vote via email will take place.

3.3. **Interview of New Journal editorial candidate.** A brief interview with one of the candidates for the editorin-chief of the New Journal takes place.

### 4. Appointments

4.1. **2024** Distinguished Lecture. The President recalls the Board needs to select the 2024 Distinguished Lecture to be delivered at *Asiacrypt 2024*. Several excellent candidates are nominated, and after discussion a candidate is selected.

Decision 2. Paul Kocher is appointed Distinguished Lecturer for 2024. [Kocher subsequently accepted.]

4.2. Crypto 2024 General Chair. The President recalls the Board needs to select the General Chair for *Crypto 2024*. No candidates were nominated prior to the meeting. Abdalla encourages nominations from the Board by email.

4.3. CHES 2024 Program Committee Chair. The CHES Steering Committee recommends that Francisco Rodríguez-Henríquez and Bo-Yin Yang be appointed as Co-Chair for the CHES 2024 Program Committee.

**Decision 3.** Francisco Rodríguez-Henríquez and Bo-Yin Yang are appointed Program Committee Co-Chairs for CHES 2024. [Rodríguez-Henríquez and Yang subsequently accepted.]

4.4. **New Journal Editor-in-Chief.** The Board discusses the candidates that have been interviewed for the editorin-chief position of the New Journal. Abdalla will set up a vote by Helios to make a first selection for the Editorin-Chief to be completed by the next Board meeting, where we will discuss the outcome of the referendum and consider options for a second selection for the Editor-in-Chief.

# 5. CLOSING MATTERS

Abdalla closes the meeting officially at 17h38 CEST.