MINUTES IACR BOARD MEETING VIRTUAL-2 '19

12 NOVEMBER 2019

1. OPENING MATTERS

- 1.1. **Welcome, roll of attendees, identification of proxies.** At 15h07 CET Cachin opens the meeting and briefly goes around for an introductory round, confirming attendees and establishing who is holding proxies. There are 19 full time attendees with LaMacchia holding proxy for Matsui. Lepoint leaves at 16h30 CET and Halevi holds his proxy, Paterson leaves at 16h00 CET and Stebila holds his proxy. Lysyanskaya joins 16h39 CET.
- 1.2. **Review and approval of agenda.** The agenda is approved, with the understanding that the meeting will be held in an order slightly deviating from the agenda (as certain items have scheduling constraints). These minutes are reordered to the original agenda for consistency.

1.2.1. Roll of Attendees.

Attendees (Elected). Christian Cachin (President 2017-2019); Greg Rose (Vice President 2017-2019); Brian LaMacchia (Treasurer 2017-2019); Joppe Bos (Secretary 2017-2019); Michel Abdalla (Director 2019-2021); Masayuki Abe (Director 2018-2020); Shai Halevi (Director 2017-2019, TCC Steering Committee); Tancrède Lepoint (Director 2018-2020); Anna Lysyanskaya (Director 2019-2021); Bart Preneel (Director 2017-2019, FSE Steering Committee); Francois-Xavier Standaert (Director 2017-2019, CHES Steering Committee); Moti Yung (Director 2018-2020, PKC Steering Committee).

Attendees (Appointed). Lejla Batina (Eurocrypt'20 General Chair 2019-2020); Kwangjo Kim, (Asiacrypt'20 General Chair 2019-2020); Kenny Paterson (Journal of Cryptology Editor-in-Chief 2017–2019, RWC Steering Committee); Leo Reyzin (Crypto'20 General Chair 2019-2020); Douglas Stebila (Membership Secretary 2017-2020); Foteini Baldimtsi (Communications Secretary 2019-2022);

Attendees (Representatives and Others). Kevin S. McCurley (Database Administrator);

Absentees (Elected). Nadia Heninger (Director 2019-2021);

Absentees (Appointed). Marc Fischlin (*Eurocrypt'19* General Chair 2018-2019); Mitsuru Matsui (*Asiacrypt'19* General Chair 2018-2019, *Asiacrypt* Steering Committee); Muthu Venkitasubramaniam, (*Crypto'19* General Chair 2018-2019).

Absentees (Representatives and Others). Hilarie Orman (Archivist); Tal Rabin (Code-of-conduct Liaison); Yu Yu (Webmaster).

2. Officer and appointees

2.1. **Treasurer.** The Treasurer summarizes the recent activities taken as agreed upon in the Board Meeting at *Crypto '19*. The Fidelity Investment account has been established. The funds from Wells Fargo have been moved to this new Investment account according to our policies. Everything is working as expected.

The checking accounts for *TCC* and *Crypto* have been established. The reimbursement of students through TransferWise is working out fine so far.

3. PROGRAM CHAIR AND OTHER APPOINTMENTS

3.1. *Crypto '21* General Chair appointment. The President recalls that the two previously selected candidates by the Board during the *Crypto '19* Board Meeting declined. Several excellent candidates are nominated, and after discussion a candidate is selected.

Decision 1. Vlad Kolesnikov is appointed General Chair for Crypto '21. [Kolesnikov subsequently accepted.]

12 NOVEMBER 2019

2

3.2. *Crypto '21* Program Co-Chair appointment. The President recalls that due to the move to the parallel cochair model we need to appoint two Program Co-Chairs for *Crypto '21*. Several excellent pairs of candidates are nominated, and after discussion a pair is selected.

Decision 2. Chris Peikert and Tal Malkin are appointed Program Co-Chairs for Crypto '21. [Peikert and Malkin subsequently accepted.]

Abdalla suggests that instead of appointing pairs we appoint one Program Co-Chair at the Board Meeting during *Eurocrypt* and one at the Board Meeting during *Crypto*.

3.3. Asiacrypt '21 Program Co-Chair appointment. Asiacrypt '21 takes place 5-9 December 2021 in Singapore. Wang Huaxiong is already appointed as Program Co-Chair. Several excellent candidates are nominated, and after discussion a candidate is selected.

Decision 3. Mehdi Tibouchi is appointed Program Co-Chair for Asiacrypt '21. [Tibouchi subsequently accepted.]

4. Other business

4.1. *CHES '21* **Program Chairs.** The CHES steering committee asks the Board to approve their selection of Elke De Mulder and Peter Schwabe as Program Co-Chairs for *CHES '21*.

Decision 4. The Board approves the selection by the CHES Steering Committee of Elke De Mulder and Peter Schwabe as Program Co-Chairs for CHES '21.

4.2. **Code-of-conduct, bylaws change.** Rose explains that the Ethics Committee would like to add some additional text to our bylaws. This allows to widen the scope and strategy of the Ethics Committee per the discussion in the Board at *Eurocrypt '19*. The reason to put this in the bylaws is that this document is more publicly available to our members. There is nothing to vote on for the Board yet but something to think about and discuss in our next Board Meeting.

Abdalla asks where the current code-of-conduct appears. It is explained that this is currently displayed when you register for a Conference. Stebila suggests to put this in the "about" menu of the webpage. The President agrees and thanks Stebila for this suggestion.

5. CLOSING MATTERS

Cachin closes the meeting at 16h57 CET. This is the last Board Meeting where Cachin serves as President and the Board thanks Cachin for his great work and service to the IACR.