IACR 2010 Election Report

Submitted by 2010 IACR Election Committee of Josh Benaloh, Jean-Jacques Quisquater, and Serge Vaudenay

The 2010 IACR elections included races for all IACR Officer positions (President, Vice-President, Treasurer, and Secretary) and three rotating Director positions. There was one candidate for President, two for each of the three other Officer positions, and six candidates for the three Director positions (one candidate ran both for an Officer and Director position).

For the first time, the IACR elections were conducted electronically using the Helios cryptographically-verifiable voting system. Despite a small number of concerns and complaints about possible security issues with online voting (even with a universally-verifiable system), the election seemed quite successful with a participation rate approximately 50% higher than with prior paper-based postal elections. The electronic system also reduced costs, substantially decreased lead time, and eliminated disqualification of ballots due to voter errors. Additionally, members who previously did not have an opportunity to vote because the IACR did not have a current physical address or because of slow mail service were able to participate in this election.

Voting credentials were sent to 1555 IACR members — including 52 for whom the IACR had no physical address. A total of 499 ballots were cast by 475 distinct voters (only the last ballot submitted by each voter is included in the tally). An additional 26 optional "challenge" ballots were submitted for inclusion in the election audit — these challenge ballots helped to ensure the integrity of the Helios voting clients.

Candidate names on the ballot were randomly ordered by the election chair using dice rolls. The results, as follows, were verified by the Helios election auditor as well as an independent auditor written and hosted by UC Louvain.

President

429 Bart Preneel

Vice-President

268 Christian Cachin

179 Helena Handschuh

Treasurer

275 Greg Rose

141 Marcelo Kaihara

Secretary

265 Martijn Stam

162 James Hughes

Director

230 David Pointcheval

130 John Kelsey

169 Amit Sahai

210 Christof Paar

216 Mitsuru Matsui

199 Christian Cachin